The Monasteries of Mount Athos

On the Holy Mount Athos, there are several monasteries, whose total number by the Typikon of 1783 and since 1924 is also by law set to 20. There are a further 12 Skites and various Kellie and hermitages.

The monasteries themselves have almost all the same basic architecture. Thus, the outer complexes are usually built like a fortress, often with towers, battlements and parapets. Thus they could defend themselfs in the past often - but unfortunately not always - successfully against pirate attacks. The structure of the monasteries is usually applied rectangular. The outer walls, the inner catholic courtyards, the monastery church, which always have a cross with a dome. In between each are the common rooms and monks' cells.

Those who have the intention to visit a monastery or even to stay there are well advised to first register by telephone. Because sometimes visitors don't fit the monks at certain times not at all, or the beds are already full. Below are the monasteries, not alphabetically, but according to the typical list of the monastic republic hierarchical ranking of 1 to 20. This has existed since the 16th Century to today unchanged and was confirmed by the Typikon of 1783.



01. Moni Megistis Lavra greek-orthodox

02. Moni Vatopediou greek-orthodox

03. Moni Iviron greek-orthodox

04. Moni Chilandariou serbian-orthodox

05. Moni Dionysiou greek-orthodox

06. Moni Koutloumousiou greek-orthodox

07. Moni Pandokratoros greek-orthodox

08. Moni Xiropotamou greek-orthodox

09. Moni Zografou bulgarian-orthodox

10. Moni Dochiariou greek-orthodox

11. Moni Karakalou greek-orthodox

12. Moni Philotheo greek-orthodox

13. Moni Simonos Petras greek-orthodox

14. Moni Agiou Pavlou greek-orthodox

15. Moni Stavronikita greek-orthodox

16. Moni Xenofondos greek-orthodox

17. Moni Osiou Grigoriou greek-orthodox

18. Moni Esfigmenou greek-orthodox

19. Moni Agiou Panteleimonos russ.-orthodox

20. Moni Konstamonitou greek-orthodox