The Monastery Moni Konstamonitou
The founding of the monastery, that is dedicated to St. Stefan, are from the 10th Century. The first written mention dates back to 1051st

About the Monastery to the following centuries of history we hardly find documents. Until the 14th Century it was inhabited by Greek monks and played a minor role among the monasteries of the Holy Mountain.
( Greek-Orthodox; Holiday: 27. Dezember )

In the year 1420 a fire destroyed the monastery.

Then it was rebuilt with money and workers of a Serbian military commander. In the subsequent period the monks increased. But already less than 100 years later, at the beginning of the 16th Century, the monastery went completely broke. When the middle of that century a fire occurs again the monks abandoned it.

Towards the end of the 18th Century it was in the hands of the Patriarch of Constantinople again. But in the mid-19th Century, expressed financial worries again. The monastery is also called Moni Kastamonitou.

The reason why it has two names it’s not quite realized. "Kastamonitou" comes from the Middle ages, a monk from Asia Minor in Kastamone seems to be the founder. The official name which is used today, "Konstamonitou", however, has also a legend.

The constant ups and downs in the history of the monastery mean that the buildings in the current facility built in the 19th and 20 Century.

01. Moni Megistis Lavra greek-orthodox

02. Moni Vatopediou greek-orthodox

03. Moni Iviron greek-orthodox

04. Moni Chilandariou serbian-orthodox

05. Moni Dionysiou greek-orthodox

06. Moni Koutloumousiou greek-orthodox

07. Moni Pandokratoros greek-orthodox

08. Moni Xiropotamou greek-orthodox

09. Moni Zografou bulgarian-orthodox

10. Moni Dochiariou greek-orthodox

11. Moni Karakalou greek-orthodox

12. Moni Philotheo greek-orthodox

13. Moni Simonos Petras greek-orthodox

14. Moni Agiou Pavlou greek-orthodox

15. Moni Stavronikita greek-orthodox

16. Moni Xenofondos greek-orthodox

17. Moni Osiou Grigoriou greek-orthodox

18. Moni Esfigmenou greek-orthodox

19. Moni Agiou Panteleimonos russ.-orthodox

20. Moni Konstamonitou greek-orthodox