The Monastery Moni Stavronikita
The smallest of the today 20 monasteries at Athos, with the construction of the buildings lying quite close together and a tower with some battlements.

When exactly, and especially by whom the monastery was found, can not be demonstrated. According to a legend, the founders were the monks Stavros and Nikitas, who had lived as hermits on the Athos.
( Greek-Orthodox; Holiday: 6. Dezember )

Another story mentions a pious officer named Nikephoros Stavroniketas, who served under the Byzantine Emperor Ioannes Tzimiskes.

There are different names for the monastery from 1020 to 1030. At 1153 has the name "Stravoniketas" (Schiel of Niketas). At which time it is then renamed "Stavroniketas" (Cross winner) is unknown.

In June 1533 a monk named Gregorios Giromeriatis acquired the monastery for 4.000 pieces of silver. Begin immediately the restoration. When he died, the Patriarch Jeremias I (1522-1546) continued the work, especially when he became a donor. Thus, the Katholikon inaugurated on 3 July 1546.

Precious treasures of the monastery are a mosaic icon of the 14th Century, the pillars of the monastery church and the representation of Saint Nikolaos. Similarly, are located in Katholikon numerous other murals of the Cretan painter Theophanes, including a portrait of Jeremias I., as the founder of the monastery.

Unfortunately, the monastery had in a period of 250 years, five victims of severe fires.

01. Moni Megistis Lavra greek-orthodox

02. Moni Vatopediou greek-orthodox

03. Moni Iviron greek-orthodox

04. Moni Chilandariou serbian-orthodox

05. Moni Dionysiou greek-orthodox

06. Moni Koutloumousiou greek-orthodox

07. Moni Pandokratoros greek-orthodox

08. Moni Xiropotamou greek-orthodox

09. Moni Zografou bulgarian-orthodox

10. Moni Dochiariou greek-orthodox

11. Moni Karakalou greek-orthodox

12. Moni Philotheo greek-orthodox

13. Moni Simonos Petras greek-orthodox

14. Moni Agiou Pavlou greek-orthodox

15. Moni Stavronikita greek-orthodox

16. Moni Xenofondos greek-orthodox

17. Moni Osiou Grigoriou greek-orthodox

18. Moni Esfigmenou greek-orthodox

19. Moni Agiou Panteleimonos russ.-orthodox

20. Moni Konstamonitou greek-orthodox