The Monastery Moni Simonos Petras
The large monastery is consecrated in the birth of Christ and because of its design it reminds a Tibetan Lama monastery. It is in more than 200 meters altitude on a steep rock, which completely surrounds it.

The building has ten floors with a total height of approximately 40 meters. Founder is the legend of the Blessed Simon the ascetic on the Petra (byzantine: rocks), the monastery was built later.
( Greek-Orthodox; Holiday: 25. Dezember )

As a miraculous light illuminated the rock, he thought that this was a sign at this point to establish a monastery.

Simon called it Nea Vitleem (New Bethlehem), the monastery mentioned in the year 1345. The exact founding date is unknown, but at 1284 is often mentioned. The founder could be the Serbian despot Jovan Ugljesa.

At least the monastery received by him in 1364 extensive donations. So it is already counted towards, at the end of the 14th Century, to the then 25 big monasteries. At 1580, the monastery was completely destroyed by a major fire. It is believed that this all hitherto existing documents, manuscripts, books, relics and other treasures were destroyed.

Through the Romanian prince Michael the Brave, it was rebuilt. But at 1626 was again destroyed by fire. Even then there were donors, who have enabled a new building.

Afterwards, the monks of the monastery for about two centuries enjoy their prosperity, until the middle of the 18th Century due to economic problems and political unrest in importance lost. On 28 June 1891 a great fire destroyed the monastery.

The monks had with them the revered relics for safety, but all the other treasures of the monastery destroyed. Probably this includes around 250 valuable manuscripts.

01. Moni Megistis Lavra greek-orthodox

02. Moni Vatopediou greek-orthodox

03. Moni Iviron greek-orthodox

04. Moni Chilandariou serbian-orthodox

05. Moni Dionysiou greek-orthodox

06. Moni Koutloumousiou greek-orthodox

07. Moni Pandokratoros greek-orthodox

08. Moni Xiropotamou greek-orthodox

09. Moni Zografou bulgarian-orthodox

10. Moni Dochiariou greek-orthodox

11. Moni Karakalou greek-orthodox

12. Moni Philotheo greek-orthodox

13. Moni Simonos Petras greek-orthodox

14. Moni Agiou Pavlou greek-orthodox

15. Moni Stavronikita greek-orthodox

16. Moni Xenofondos greek-orthodox

17. Moni Osiou Grigoriou greek-orthodox

18. Moni Esfigmenou greek-orthodox

19. Moni Agiou Panteleimonos russ.-orthodox

20. Moni Konstamonitou greek-orthodox