The Monastery Moni Dochiariou
According to a tradition the monastery has been established at 950 by Evthimios, a student of St. Athanasios. Historically, this can not be demonstrated.

In old documents, the monastery on the west coast first mentioned around 1030. It is believed that its formation took place before 1013. Apparently by a monk known as Docheiarios "(accountant).
( Greek-Orthodox; Holiday: 8. November )

In another document from the year 1037, mentioned that St. Nicholas of Myra was consecrated a monastery "tu Docheiariu". Because first there was the monastery near the port of Dafni. Between 1083 and 1108, the monastery was the original location to its current venue. Since it is also consecrated to the Archangels Michael and Gabriel.

At the beginning of the 12th Century there was a strengthening of investment. There was a wall with fortified tower erected at the monastery as well as the Katholikon expanded.

Only for 1568 the monastery by the Romanian prince Alexander IV Lapusneanu renewed and expanded. Since that he is the third founder of the monastery. From the 14th and 15 Century the monastery had some privileges by the deeds of the Byzantine emperor.

There are also the richest and best preserved frescoes on the Athos. Unfortunately, in the monastery photographs are forbidden! The buildings of the current facility do not contain parts from the founding period. The oldest buildings date from the 16th Century.

01. Moni Megistis Lavra greek-orthodox

02. Moni Vatopediou greek-orthodox

03. Moni Iviron greek-orthodox

04. Moni Chilandariou serbian-orthodox

05. Moni Dionysiou greek-orthodox

06. Moni Koutloumousiou greek-orthodox

07. Moni Pandokratoros greek-orthodox

08. Moni Xiropotamou greek-orthodox

09. Moni Zografou bulgarian-orthodox

10. Moni Dochiariou greek-orthodox

11. Moni Karakalou greek-orthodox

12. Moni Philotheo greek-orthodox

13. Moni Simonos Petras greek-orthodox

14. Moni Agiou Pavlou greek-orthodox

15. Moni Stavronikita greek-orthodox

16. Moni Xenofondos greek-orthodox

17. Moni Osiou Grigoriou greek-orthodox

18. Moni Esfigmenou greek-orthodox

19. Moni Agiou Panteleimonos russ.-orthodox

20. Moni Konstamonitou greek-orthodox