The Monastery Moni Dionysiou
The convent is the birthplace of St. John Baptist. It was founded due to a divine vision at 1366 by the monk Dionysius. First, it was a small monastic settlement.

Since 1574 it takes in the monastery hierarchy the fifth place. In the third Typikon of Athos in the year 1394, it was in the fourteenth place, but they were 25 monasteries on the Holy Mountain.
( Greek-Orthodox; Holiday: 24. June )

The monastery is the home of the "Golden Bull" of Emperor Alexios III. Komnenos. This must not in any way be confused with the "Golden Bull" of Emperor Konstantinos Monomachos. The library can also present about 1,000 handwriting and more than 5,000 publications.

Remarkable are also the Cretan style frescoes dating back to 1546 and the 1547. These are located in the monastery church and the refectory. Among them are world famous, as the motives of the Apocalypse. After the fall of the Byzantine Empire, the monastery was supported by the Prince of Moldavia and Wallachia. From this period we also have today the 25-meter high tower, which was built in 1520.

A fire in 1535 destroyed almost the entire monastery. Except from the tower and the foundations of the Katholikon there was not much left. Grand Duke Peter IV Rares (1527-1546) rebuild the monastery.

The monks were able to save from the fire one of the most important icons, Marie. This will be one of the Evangelist Luke painted pictures act of grace.

In this convent are quite pious monks and the adventure-story tower on the outer walls of the building is 80 meters above the sea. The geographical situation of the surrounding rock makes possible to build only upwards.

01. Moni Megistis Lavra greek-orthodox

02. Moni Vatopediou greek-orthodox

03. Moni Iviron greek-orthodox

04. Moni Chilandariou serbian-orthodox

05. Moni Dionysiou greek-orthodox

06. Moni Koutloumousiou greek-orthodox

07. Moni Pandokratoros greek-orthodox

08. Moni Xiropotamou greek-orthodox

09. Moni Zografou bulgarian-orthodox

10. Moni Dochiariou greek-orthodox

11. Moni Karakalou greek-orthodox

12. Moni Philotheo greek-orthodox

13. Moni Simonos Petras greek-orthodox

14. Moni Agiou Pavlou greek-orthodox

15. Moni Stavronikita greek-orthodox

16. Moni Xenofondos greek-orthodox

17. Moni Osiou Grigoriou greek-orthodox

18. Moni Esfigmenou greek-orthodox

19. Moni Agiou Panteleimonos russ.-orthodox

20. Moni Konstamonitou greek-orthodox