The Monastery Moni Megistis Lavra
The monastery was founded in 963 is not only the oldest on the Athos, but also the most famous and venerable. It is situated at 150 meters altitude on a natural cliff on the southeast coast and directly at the foot of Mount Athos.

Its design is medieval, because the monastery has all sorts of towers and ramparts. The fortress wall once had over 15 towers, today there are nine.
(Greek-Orthodox; Holiday: 5. July)

Among them is the "Tower of Tzimiskes" which is the name of the Byzantine Emperor Ioannes Tzimiskes (969-976). Its founder is the monk Athanasios Othios (also: Athanasios Athonites).

At summer 963 had begun the establishment of a Katholikon for about 80 monks, there was almost for 40 years, now had become much smaller. Athanasios around the year 1000 made a major new development for the attack. For more than 80 years there was scaffolding and then it collapse, the architect and five other workers die.

The monk Athanasios then buried in Katholikon. His grave is located in the north chapel.

The walls of the monastery rooms are partly with magnificent paintings by Theophanes in the year 1535 and Phrangos Katelanos from the year 1560. In Katholikon, the most beautiful and most important church in the Mount Athos monastery, there are frescoes dating back to 1535, the Cretan style paint. In the library of the monastery are almost 2,500 historically valuable manuscripts, books and other documents.

Similarly, the monastery is home to precious priest robes and crown of the Byzantine emperor Nikephorus I Phokas († 969). The monastery subordinates are the Skitest Agias Annas, Kavsokalyvia and Timiu Prodromu.

01. Moni Megistis Lavra greek-orthodox

02. Moni Vatopediou greek-orthodox

03. Moni Iviron greek-orthodox

04. Moni Chilandariou serbian-orthodox

05. Moni Dionysiou greek-orthodox

06. Moni Koutloumousiou greek-orthodox

07. Moni Pandokratoros greek-orthodox

08. Moni Xiropotamou greek-orthodox

09. Moni Zografou bulgarian-orthodox

10. Moni Dochiariou greek-orthodox

11. Moni Karakalou greek-orthodox

12. Moni Philotheo greek-orthodox

13. Moni Simonos Petras greek-orthodox

14. Moni Agiou Pavlou greek-orthodox

15. Moni Stavronikita greek-orthodox

16. Moni Xenofondos greek-orthodox

17. Moni Osiou Grigoriou greek-orthodox

18. Moni Esfigmenou greek-orthodox

19. Moni Agiou Panteleimonos russ.-orthodox

20. Moni Konstamonitou greek-orthodox